Alumni briefs

Author: Erik Runyon

2006 Alumni Board Election

Candidates will be vying for eight seats on the Alumni Board. They are: Region 3 —Corey Babington ‘94, Scottsdale, Arizona, and Holly Colman ’86, Ventura, California; Region 4—Joseph Pupel ’87, ’90MBA, Plymouth, Minnesota, and Patrick Reis ’85, Minneapolis, Minnesota; Region 7—Patrick McKeever ’61, Grosse Pointe, Michigan, and Hugh Sonk ’77, ’79MBA, Ann Arbor, Michigan; Region 10—Patrick Perrella ’90, New York, New York, and Matthew Roy ’88, Sea Girt, New Jersey; Region 14—Paul Christmann ’89, New Orleans, Louisiana, and John O’Brien III, D.D.S. ’84, Birmingham, Alabama; Region 18—Steve Hogan ’86, Sarasota Springs, New York, and John View ’74, Syracuse, New York; Young Alumni—Francesca Milles-Dave ’01, New York, New York, and Robert Holcomb ’99, San Jose, California.

Information about the candidates will be included with the January Alumni Newsletter, along with the ballot. Alumni can also vote after January 12 at or by calling toll free 800-668-0764.

Alumni Association Awards

Terrence E. Sauvain ‘63 of Garrett Park, Maryland, is the recipient of the 2006 Rev. John J. Cavanaugh, CSC, Award. He is minority staff director on the U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee and assistant to its ranking minority member, Senator Robert C. Byrd (D-W.Va.). After graduating from Notre Dame, Sauvain, a native of Cleveland, went to Washington and worked for several federal agencies. In 1973, he moved to the Appropriations Committee, where he presently serves. He served 30 years in the U.S. Coast Guard Reserve, rising to the rank of captain and earning both of the Coast Guard’s top commendations: Eagle Award and Meritorious Service Medal. Mary McCann Sanchez ‘79M.A. of Comayagua, Honduras, recipient of the 2006 Dr. Thomas A. Dooley Award, began a commitment to the poor of Latin America while serving as a Holy Cross Associate in Chile from 1979 to 1981, during the Pinochet dictatorship. Sanchez later became a volunteer for Catholic Relief Services and the United Nations High Commission for Refugees in Honduras, and eventually taught in their technical school. While she was a Central America field representative for the American Friends Service Committee, her most critical assignment was to direct relief operations in the aftermath of Hurricane Mitch. Even as a teacher in Chicago, she sponsored a Salvadoran family escaping that country for sanctuary here. She also facilitated International Summer Service Students for Notre Dame in Honduras.

Christine Swanson ’94 and Michael Swanson ’93 of Toluca Lake, California, are honored this year with the Rev. Arthur S. Harvey, CSC, Award. Christine is writer and director of their production company, Faith Filmworks, Inc.; Michael is chief executive officer and producer of their films, through which they strive to create entertaining and relevant stories with moral resonance. The Swansons were named by CNN as “two to watch” in Hollywood, and their films have been exhibited and/or won prizes at the Sundance Festival, the Chicago and Santa Barbara International Film festivals, and the HBO Short Film Competition. Features have included All About You, Two Seasons and Woman Thou Art Loosed.

Rev. James J. Flanigan, CSC, ’58, ’63M.A. will receive this year’s Rev. Anthony J. Lauck, CSC, Award. Ordained to the priesthood in 1962, Flanigan began his teaching career at Notre Dame in 1965 and has remained part of the University and Holy Cross community. His works on campus include “Blessed Brother Andre” at the south exterior wall of the Eck Center, “Christ the Teacher” in the lawn north of the Hammes Notre Dame Bookstore, and the Stations of the Cross in Malloy Hall’s Mary, Seat of Wisdom Chapel. Flanigan chairs the Committee on Art and Environment for Worship for the Diocese of Fort Wayne-South Bend. He was rector of Dillon Hall and curator of the Snite Museum’s Mestrovic Collection, as well as second assistant provincial for healthcare and retirement for the Congregation of Holy Cross, Indiana Province.

Dr. Francis M. Kobayashi ‘47, ’48M.S., ’53Ph.D. is recipient of the 2006 Rev. John Cardinal O’Hara Award in honor of his service to the University as professor, researcher and administrator. A professor emeritus of aerospace and mechanical engineering, he retired a decade ago as assistant vice president of the Graduate School research division. Kobayashi has been a tireless promoter of the research interests of the Notre Dame faculty. He taught and conducted ground-breaking research here, received Student Government’s Faculty Service Award in 1958, worked briefly for the fledgling National Science Foundation (NSF) in Washington, D.C., and for 30 years promoted and assisted faculty in their sponsored research work. He served Notre Dame on the faculty senate and on a committee that evaluated the use of human subjects in research.

Kenneth L. Woodward ‘57 is recipient of the 2006 Rev. Robert F. Griffin, CSC, Award. Religion editor of Newsweek for 38 years and currently a contributing editor, he has written more than 750 articles for Newsweek, including more than 40 cover stories. He also has contributed to The New York Times, The Washington Post, America, Commonweal, The Christian Century and The Nation. Woodward received the American Society of Magazine Editors’ National Magazine Award and five Wilbur Awards from the Religious Communicators Council. He contributed to The Bible in America, which won the Laymen’s National Bible Committee’s Citation of Appreciation. In 1979 he received the Women in Communications, Inc. Clarion Award for his cover story “Living With Dying,” and in 1976 was given the American Psychological Foundation National Media Award for “Who’s Raising the Kids?” Woodward’s articles on the civil rights movement won him the William E. Leidt Award in 1965 and 1981. He holds four honorary doctoral degrees.

Tavis to Host Europe Trip

Alumni are invited to join Notre Dame Professor Lee Tavis ‘53 on the “Legendary Passage” trip to France, Switzerland and Germany, May 5-17. Tavis became the C.R. Smith Professor of Finance after serving as a naval aviator, working as an associate consultant for McKinsey and Company, studying at Stanford and Indiana University, and teaching at the University of Texas-Austin. At Notre Dame, he founded the Program on Multinational Managers and Developing Country Concerns, and is a faculty fellow of the Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies and the Helen Kellogg Institute for International Studies. For more information on alumni travel programs, visit or call 1-800-634-2631.

Theology Online

STEP (Satellite Theological Education Program) at the University of Notre Dame offers alums a convenient way to learn from some of ND’s best theology professors. The program delivers online courses ranging from four to six weeks in duration. Notre Dame faculty have prepared courses on such topics as sacraments, liturgy, scripture, ethics, Christology, doctrine and American Catholicism. For complete course schedules and registration information, visit the STEP website at