Alumni Briefs

Author: the Notre Dame Alumni Association

2005 Alumni Board Election

Candidates vying for eight seats on the Alumni Board are: Region 2—Mark Brooke '92, Helena, Montana, and Ceyl Prinster '76, Denver; Region 5—Keith Kriegshauser '83, Saint Louis, and Tony Scott '83, Moline, Illinois; Region 11—Phil Connors '59, Princeton, Massachusetts, and Kevin Lethbridge '81, '83MBA, Rumford, Rhode Island; Region 12—Ernie Buckley '53, Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, and Jim Kane '84, Norristown, Pennsylvania; Region 15—Phil Carter '67, '71Ph.D., Raleigh, North Carolina, and Eileen O'Connor Doran '91, Norcross, Georgia; Region 17—Rich Bollini '70, Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, and Jerry Kruczek '71, Orlando; Young Alumni—Mike Brown '01, West Allis, Wisconsin, and Dan Brosmer '01, Northville, Michigan; and Senior Alumni—George Harvey '03Honorary, Decatur, Alabama, and Jim Keegan '59, Wilmington, Delaware.

Information about the candidates, along with the ballot, will be included with the January _Alumni Newsletter_. Alumni also can vote after January 12 at or by calling 800-668-0764.

Alumni Awards

The Honorable Paul J. Kelly Jr. '63 of Santa Fe, New Mexico, will receive the 2005 Rev. John J. Cavanaugh, CSC, Award on January 28. Kelly is a judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 10th Circuit. While in private practice, Kelly helped establish the state public defender program for indigent defendants. A member of the New Mexico House of Representatives from 1977 to 1981, he also served on the New Mexico Board of Bar Examiners, chaired the New Mexico Judicial Salary Review Committee, was president of the Chaves County Bar Association and the New Mexico Public Defender Board, and was a reviewing officer and Hearing Committee chair of the Disciplinary Board of the New Mexico Supreme Court.

Sister Joan Chittister, OSB, '68M.A. of Erie, Pennsylvania, will receive the Dr. Thomas A. Dooley Award in April. As one of America's spiritual voices on the subjects of justice, peace and equality, Chittister is a best-selling author, a columnist for the _National Catholic Reporter,_ and founder and executive director of Benetvision, a center for contemporary spirituality. Among her numerous honorary degrees, recognitions and awards is the 2001 Thomas Merton Award from the Merton Center. She is co-chair of the Global Peace Initiative of Women, a partner organization of the United Nations, a founding member of the International Committee for the Peace Council and a member of the Niwano Peace Foundation in Japan.

Frederic Syburg '61 of South Bend, an emeritus associate professor of the Notre Dame Department of Film, Television and Theatre, is the 2005 recipient of the Rev. Arthur S. Harvey, CSC, Award. Syburg taught from 1954 to 1993 and directed nearly 50 student productions, including _The Importance of Being Earnest_, _MacBeth_ and _Amadeus_. He was a member of the National Catholic Theatre Conference and served as first vice-chairman of the honorary dramatic fraternity Alpha Gamma Omega. Syburg performed in many Notre Dame and South Bend Civic Theater productions. He also contributed articles on theater to _Catholic Theatre Magazine_.

John David Mooney '63 will receive the Rev. Anthony J. Lauck, CSC, Award in January. The sculptor is director of the John David Mooney Foundation, a nonprofit educational organization he founded in 1980 to develop and promote public art as a relevant and enriching force in society. Among his efforts to bring art out of museums are large pieces encompassing architecture and landscape for such clients as the Vatican Observatory, former British Prime Minister John Major, the Maltese government and IBM in Chicago.

James A. Roemer '51, '55J.D., of New Buffalo, Michigan, will be given the John Cardinal O'Hara, CSC, Award at Reunion '05. Roemer joined the University as general counsel in 1972. He also served for nine years as dean of students and as an adjunct professor of law. During his tenure as director of community relations from 1984 until his retirement in 2001, he initiated the Coalition Against Drugs in Saint Joseph County, Christmas in April and the SOLE Minority Law School program. He also started the annual National Youth Sports Program on campus—an educational and sports program for inner-city children.

Dr. Samuel Hazo '49 of Pittsburgh will receive the Rev. Robert F. Griffin, CSC, Award on January 28. Among his many novels, translations, volumes of essays and books of poems are _The Holy Surprise of Right Now, The Rest is Prose, Feather, As They Sail_ and _Spying for God_. Hazo is McAnulty Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Duquesne University. He was appointed the first poet laureate of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 1993 and received a presidential appointment to serve on the Council of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Father Hesburgh's Reflections Shared

The wisdom and experience of the Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, CSC, president emeritus of Notre Dame, is related through the video _A Man for All Generations: Life's Lessons from Father Ted Hesburgh_, available at the Notre Dame Bookstore, its Catalog Center (800-647-4641) or at

Tour the Amazon Rainforest

Emil T. Hofman '53M.S., '63Ph.D., dean emeritus of First Year of Studies, will host "Amazon Voyage: Greatest Voyage in Natural History," May 7-15. Participants will travel along five rivers with expert guides. For more information, contact Alumni Travel at or call 800-634-2631.

Family Volunteer Camp

A multigenerational service opportunity for Notre Dame alumni and friends takes place through the Family Volunteer Camp, July 10-15. Children's activities and social events complement the week of service to the South Bend community. Families stay in a residence hall.

Call 574-631-6181 or visit for more information.