ND Law school monopolizes championship

Author: Notre Dame Magazine

Law school monopolizes championship

In the finals of the National Trial Competition in Dallas, March 31-April 1, it was Notre Dame against . . . Notre Dame.

Two teams from the Law School defeated the rest of the field to face each other in the final match. The Blue team of Kelly Murphy, Shazzie Naseem, Ryan Redmon and Tamara Walker won the title by defeating ND Gold (Stone Grissom, Scott Kellogg, Steve Pratico and Matt Wolesky).

The National Trial Competition, the oldest and most prestigious such event in the nation, involves law students arguing hypothetical cases in front of judges. Some 280 teams took part in 12 regional events earlier in the year to qualify 24 teams for the finals.

Grissom was named the outstanding advocate in the finals, and Walker became the first African-American woman to be part of a national championship team.

Notre Dame last won the national title in 1993.