Notre Dame alumni briefs

Author: Staff writer

Alumni Board Election
Candidates currently vying for seven seats open on the Alumni Board are: Region 3 — Stacy Roscoe ’71, Ventura, California, and Deborah Meck-Loughran ’91, Placentia, California; Region 4 — John C. Greer ’83, Minneapolis, Minnesota, and Theodore J. LaTour ’54, Shorewood, Wisconsin; Region 7 — John E. Freitas, M.D., ’67, Ann Arbor, Michigan, and Kevin P. Killilea ’84, Kalamazoo, Michigan; Region 10 — Michael D. Lezynski ’91, Chester, New Jersey, and Brian McMorrow ’81, Bridgewater, New Jersey; Region 14 — Eugene J. Bastedo ’73, Germantown, Tennessee, and Helen Read Smith ’92, New Orleans; Region 18 — James M. Bonaventura ’78, Liverpool, New York, and Joanne Dowd Clayback ’80, Snyder, New York; Young Alumni — Michelle A. Strathman ’96, Houston, Texas, and Michael Tribe ’00, Chicago. The ballot and biographical information about the candidates can be found in the January Alumni newsletter or at Alumni can also vote by calling 800-668-0764 after January 6.

Alumni Association Awards
Robert M. Bennett ’62 of Tonawanda, New York, received the Rev. John J. Cavanaugh, CSC, Award during Alumni Board meetings on September 4, 2002, in recognition of four decades of service to his New York community. As president of the United Way of Buffalo and Erie County for 15 years, he forged working relationships with many community organizations. Bennett is serving a second five-year term on the New York State Board of Regents, which governs the State University of New York. He was elected chancellor of the board in March 2002.

Dr. James J. O’Connell ‘70 will receive the Dr. Thomas A. Dooley Award on January 24. After graduation from Harvard Medical School and an internship and residency in internal medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, O’Connell became the founding physician, executive director, and now president of the Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program, which is considered to be the premiere health care program for the homeless in the United States. The program has grown to include 250 full-time employees, including 15 physicians, 18 mid-level practitioners, and more than 40 nurses working at Boston hospitals and at 72 outreach sites.

For his achievements in the performing arts, Richard J. Kavanaugh ‘63 will be honored posthumously with the Rev. Arthur S. Harvey, CSC, Award at a luncheon for his family on April 11. At Notre Dame, Kavanaugh played many prominent roles under the direction of Father Harvey, including Shakespeare’s Hamlet, Iago and Othello, and Edmund in Eugene O’Neill’s Long Days Journey Into Night. He was a Fulbright Scholar at the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts, and was a leading member of the Tony Award-winning Trinity Repertory Company of Providence, Rhode Island, from 1969 until his death in 1988. He also played Renfield in the Broadway production of Dracula.

Jack Simmerling ‘57, an authority on Chicago’s architectural history, will receive the Rev. Anthony J. Lauck, CSC, Award on campus, January 24. He is the official artist for many cultural, historic and educational institutions around the country, as well as the Convention and Tourism Bureau of Chicago. His book, Chicago’s Old Homes: Legends and Lore, documents five decades of research for the sake of preservation. He has influenced the preservation and restoration of several Catholic churches, including Chicago’s Sacred Heart and Holy Family. His Spires of Faith: Historic Churches of Chicago is a compilation of drawings and paintings.

In recognition of his distinguished service to the University, Dr. Thomas P. Bergin ‘45 of South Bend will receive the John Cardinal O’Hara Award on June 6 at the Reunion 50-Year Club dinner. A member of the Notre Dame faculty since 1947, Bergin is director emeritus of continuing education and professor emeritus of management. In 1952, Bergin was appointed head of the Department of Business Administration at Notre Dame. He was named the Jesse Jones Professor of Business Administration in 1961, and three years later became dean of continuing education at Notre Dame, serving in that position for 16 years. During the past 40 years, he received four presidential appointments to positions in the U.S. Department of Commerce and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Adam Arnold of Hampton, Virginia, will be honored with the William P. Sexton Award at the Black Alumni of Notre Dame Reunion dinner on June 6. The award is given annually to a non-graduate of Notre Dame who has performed outstanding service to the University and whose life exemplifies the spirit of Notre Dame. When Father Hesburgh hired Arnold as professor of finance in 1957, he became Notre Dame’s first African-American faculty member. During his 30 years at Notre Dame, Arnold was a mentor to African-American students throughout the University. He completed his Ph.D. in finance in 1951 at the University of Wisconsin, where he earned his MBA in 1948. He received his B.A. in 1947 from West Virginia State College.

Football Weekend Couples’ Retreat
Fatima Retreat Center will again offer retreats for married couples during home football game weekends in 2003. Retreat weekends include conferences, discussions, prayer, time for quiet and relaxation, room and board, and tickets to the Notre Dame football game. The four weekends to choose from are: Washington State, September 4-6; Michigan State, September18-20; USC, October 16-18; Florida State, October 30-November 1. The offering for each weekend is $500 per couple. For more information, call Fatima Retreat Center at 574-631-8288.

Medical Ethics Conference
Helen M. Alvare, associate professor at Catholic University of America’s Columbus School of Law, Washington, D.C., will give the keynote address at the annual Medical Ethics Conference on campus, March 21-23, 2003. Alvare chairs the Commission on the Protection of Children and Clerical Conduct for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia and is also a council member of the National Institutes of Child Health and Human Development. From 1990-2000, Alvare was director of planning and information for the National Conference of Catholic Bishops’ pro-life activities. She has been a national spokeswoman on abortion, euthanasia, feminism, capital punishment, population and related issues for the U.S. Catholic bishops.

For more information, call Alumni Continuing Education at 800-849-3041 or visit