Notre Dame Prize to Brazil Presidents

Author: Ed Cohen

Brazil’s two most recent presidents were selected to receive the 2003 Notre Dame Prize for Distinguished Public Service in Latin America in recognition of the peaceful transition they worked to achieve between their administrations.

The award honors the leadership shown by President Luis Inacio Lula da Silva and his predecessor, Fernando Henrique Cardoso in the national election of 2002. The voting represented the first democratic transition between elected presidents in Brazil since the early 1960s.

Father Malloy was scheduled to travel to Brazil in January to present the prizes, which carry an award of $10,000 for each recipient and matching donations to charities of their choice.

The 3-year-old prize is organized by the University’s Kellogg Institute for International Studies, which is known for research on prospects for democracy in Latin America, and is funded by the Coca-Cola Foundation.